Thanksgiving this year is very emotional for me.  In fact, I'm fairly certain that Thanksgiving every year going forward will be very emotional for me and bring back many memories.

You see, last year the week before the Thanksgiving holiday, I found out I was pregnant.  And I, like most, was excited but a little nervous.

The week after the Thanksgiving holiday, I found a lump in my breast.  And I was scared.

About a week and a half later, I heard the words, "I'm sorry, you have cancer."

And my life changed.

I think back on the past year and all that has gone on.  A good part of me is relieved that 2011 is coming to a close.  This is not a year in my life that I will ever remember fondly. 

However, this past year has made me so incredibly thankful.

I am thankful for my health.  Today, I am healthy and alive and that alone is enough to bring me to tears.  Before cancer, I took my health for granted.  Today I am incredibly thankful for it.

I am thankful for my huge network of friends and family that supported me so much throughout the last year.  I've made new friends.  I've renewed old friendships.  I've never, ever felt so loved or cared for in my life.  If there is one good thing to come from cancer, it is to know how blessed I am in terms of family and friends.

I am thankful for my son.  Having a miscarriage has made me even more thankful for how easy my first pregnancy was and for the blessing of my child.  Every day I reminded how lucky I am to have such an amazing gift from God in that little boy.

In general, I am simply more thankful for my many, many, many blessings.  I think so often, we get lost in our day to day troubles and stress.  Stress about money.  Stress about family.  Stress about work.  And we forget that a job is a blessing.  Family is a gift.  And the material things are not forever.  We forget to be thankful.

Today, I give thanks for every moment.  I give thanks for each day.  I give thanks for every moment I get to see my son grow and learn.  I give thanks for every moment spend with my husband, even when we're not agreeing with one another.  I give thanks because no matter if the day was ideal or terrible, it is another day that I am here.

So I rejoice that 2011 is coming to a close.  I rejoice that in just 2 weeks, I will have a majority of my treatment and reconstruction behind me.  I rejoice that I am healthy and happy and lucky enough to be surrounded by amazing friends and family. 

And I pray that I will remember to be thankful for every day, for each day is a gift.
3/10/2012 10:39:33 am

will come back quickly

Reply
9/25/2012 11:20:40 pm

Nice one info, thanks

Reply



Leave a Reply.