OK, so I know I've done nothing but talk about this fundraiser lately, but it's been so much fun and the support from this has just been overwhelming (in a good way).

So my office has already raised over 5K for the Hope Lodge.  And we know there is so much more that in the mail and yet to be donated.  We've raised FIVE THOUSAND dollars in just 3 weeks!  That is DOUBLE our original goal!  I'm still picking my jaw up off the floor.  It's amazing.

Thus, we've upped the ante.

We have one manager signed up for every thousand dollars we raise from this point onwards until we get to $10K.

Then at the $10K level, two of the ladies in the office have agreed to dye their hair pink!

I've never felt more loved by coworkers before in my life!

I don't know if we'll get the whole way to $10K, but then again, I never imagined we'd get to $5K, so you never know!

So how does this make me famous?

Well, our communications coordinator contacted a few news stations... and by a few I mean all the major news stations in the Twin Cities.

And one of them called her back.

And drove to Mankato to do a story on our little fundraiser.

And it was the lead story on the 9 o'clock news tonight.

Seriously, the LEAD STORY.  CRAZY!!!!!!

And the most shocking part?!?!  I didn't hate seeing myself on TV.  The station did an amazing job with it and I didn't sound like a total goofball (as I usually do whenever I'm on video).

Once again, I'm just amazed by the support of my family, friends, coworkers, and the community here.  I know I say this all the time, but I am TRULY blessed.

Edit:  Here is the link to the news story. 

Hope Lodge News Story
Rosanne
3/24/2011 10:03:22 pm

omg!! That's so awesome! Count me as one that's in the mail (or will be). What channel was it? I bet my mn peeps saw it. I love your coworkers!

Reply
random
3/25/2011 09:09:26 am

http://www.myfoxtwincities.com/dpp/money/makato-co.-shaves-heads-to-combat-cancer-mar-24-2011

Reply
Amanda
3/30/2011 02:11:27 am

Wow you really are famous! So wonderful seeing you even if it was virtual. Love you always!

Reply



Leave a Reply.