Newsflash!  We're making some progress on the hair front.  Yes I'm excited that my hair is growing again. 

BUT Houston, we have a problem.  The hair is so thin and sparse that you can't really see it.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words... so here's what I mean:
Picture
Can you see my hair?

No?

Well here is a close up.  They're tiny, thin hairs that are so sparsely populated that you can barely see them.
Picture
I know it will thicken in.  I know that I'll most likely end up with my full head of hair again.  But the question is, what to do until then?  Because I kind of feel like I have the hair of a 6 month old.  You know what I mean.  It's thin, there's not alot of it, and sometimes the kid still just looks bald.

So part of me wants to shave it.  Because I think looking like a woman that has severely thinning hair is worse than being bald. 

But part of me wants to keep it... because it's HAIR!  YAY!

I know that hopefully in about 4-6 weeks, I should have a BEAUTIFUL start on a full head of hair so by then, it'll be a moot point.  But what is a girl to do in the mean time?

*sigh* what a great dilemma to have :)
Mary
5/26/2011 10:28:48 pm

Not only do I see hair - I see a beautiful smile and fabulous skin. You have withstood the wrath of the chemo Gods very well indeed.

As for the hair mine is thicker than ever. First it came back curly and gray. Now it is magically red-blonde again, a little straighter but thick thick thick.

keep it short for a little while (like before it fell out) and keep trimming it till it is nice and thick and then grow away. DO NOT SHAVE IT. Remember how soft baby hair is! then think of your husbands buzz - now think what you want to start with.

Thinking of you Mary

Reply
5/27/2011 06:23:12 am

I don't think you're serious about shaving it, 'cause uh... then you'll have this problem again in 2 weeks. Hey, they make tons of cute flower headbands for infant girls... ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.