Picture
World, meet my parents.

My parents rock.  OK maybe not literally (unless you think Enya and Kenny G are "rock worthy") but they certainly have rocked my world throughout this whole experience.

My parents live in Pennsylvania.  I live in Minnesota.  My mom has come to visit me for EVERY SINGLE TREATMENT.  She flew out here to hold my hand when I was diagnosed.  She flew out to take care of me when I had my surgery.  She's been here for both of my chemo treatments so far and she'll be here tomorrow for my 3rd one.  She does all that "real life" stuff that I just run out of time/energy to do.  She cooks, cleans, does laundry, grocery shops, watches Caleb when I need to sleep, shovels snow, and SO many other things.  She's amazing and I'm pretty sure I would not be as sane/happy/well rested if it weren't for her and everything she does.  Thank you Mom.  I don't think I could say that often enough for all that you do.

My Dad has been amazing in the fact that he's willing to share my mom for all of this.  I know that doesn't sound like much, but my mom spends 5 full days away from home for each visit.  That is 5 days out of every 2 weeks.  That's like 1/3 of her time for almost 2 months.  For any married couple, that is a HUGE sacrifice.  And if you know my dad, you know how much he loves having my mom around so I just want to say thank you for sharing Dad. 

I also want to thank my Dad for his many jokes.  As I've stated many times in this blog, I'm determined to do my best to laugh at what many would consider a very unfunny situation.  Whenever I call home and my Dad is there, he has a joke for me.  The most recent joke still makes me smile when I think of it, so I thought I'd share.

My dad is bald.  OK, maybe not bald, but he's totally rockin the whole "friar haircut".  You know, bald on top with a ring of hair around the sides.  I'm his first child to "follow in his footsteps" and lose all my hair.  The other day he told me he was disappointed I don't look more like him now that I'm bald like he is.  I laughed and laughed. 

Then I went and looked at photos.
Picture
Picture
Hmmmm.  I think you're wrong Dad.  I look EXACTLY like you... only you have more hair.  I can't say I ever thought I'd say that!  Enjoy your brief respite from being the baldest person in the family, Dad, cause it won't last long!
Sarah
2/23/2011 12:45:38 am

Love the pictures of Mom and Dad!

Reply
Jamie
2/23/2011 10:19:39 am

Love the post C....never realized how much you and your dad do look alike :) At least now Chris has a visual of what to look forward to as you grow oldERRRRR....30 is pretty old :) Love the picture of your parents! It captures their personality. Praying for you during this next treatment! Rest up!

Reply
Beth O.
2/25/2011 02:46:33 am

You do have the coolest parents! I love them too :)

Reply
Jenny Myers(Lindsey's Mom)
2/25/2011 09:58:29 am

C, this is all just such a good thing for you to do. I hope you continue and that everything you hope and pray to happen for you happens. I am so glad your Mom can do for you what she does and that your Dad does what he needs to do also. You are one awesome person and I enjoy checking out your blog. Jenny

Reply
Sarah aka Tooter
2/25/2011 10:09:58 pm

:o) "Big" C- you have wonderful parents and I guess that is where you get it from :o) You are amazing and keep it up honey!

Reply
2/26/2011 10:13:44 am

Wow! I never thought you looked like you dad... but WOW! And yeah, your mom is AMAZING... like, you have to WORK to be cooler and more popular than her :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.