Surgery is over.  I'm at home.  All is well.

And... surgery did not suck as bad as I thought it would!

So here's the short version of surgery.  Chris and I arrived at the hospital at 5:30 in the morning.  We checked in and actually headed into surgery on time.

Chris' favorite moment was when I was being wheeled in.  They give you a little something to help with axiety.  As the anesthesiologist put it, it will make you feel a little tipsy, like you've had 2 or 3 drinks.  So when they first injected it, I didn't feel anything.  Then it hit me and I was all "whoooooo, that's some good stuff!"

Then in the OR, I got moved onto the table and they gave me my general anesthetic.  Right before I passed out, I heard "Pick out a nice dream..."  I thought that was a nice thing to say before sending me off to dreamland.

I was in surgery for 8 hours! 

EIGHT HOURS!

I was a little shocked when I woke up in recovery and the clock said that it was almost 5 pm. 

Compared to my lumpectomy, recovery was a breeze.  I woke up, did some deep breathing for awhile (to clear out my lungs) and was wheeled into my room.

And my roommate was awful.  I think she motivated me more than anything else to get the heck out of the hospital.  That woman did not have one kind word for anyone that came near her.  And I honestly just don't do well with that kind of negativity. 

So in record breaking time, I starting using the bathroom on my own, started eating solids and got myself off the IV and onto pill form painkillers.  By noon the next day, I was ready to go!  And honestly, I didn't just push it because of my roommate, I honestly felt good enough to go home.

We were home by 5 on Friday evening.  And I've spent the last 2 days napping and relaxing with movies and books.  Honestly it's been a little heavenly because the pain has been minimal and I haven't relaxed this much in any recent memory.  I'll enjoy it while I can.

OK, maybe that wasn't the short version.  But I'm doing well, recovering well, and virtually pain free.  I guess I should've listened to everyone when they told me it wasn't that bad :)  Thank goodness y'all were right.

So thank you all for your prayers and thoughts this week.  I truly appreciate it.
7/3/2011 02:49:39 am

Wonderful update! Rest longer than you think is necessary... for all of us other haggard moms who push it too hard too often!

Reply
Mary
7/3/2011 11:41:06 pm

Cynthia - we are so pleased that it wasn't as bad as you feared. It can get a little as the anesthsia works it way out of your system - so don't let the pain get away from (take em if you need to) - time enough to be tough later on. Hopefully the drains did have to stay in long. Take this time while you can to recoup from both surgery and chemo. Your husband is at home - be at peace for a while. You have made it - you have survived what has killed women for centuries - I believe that makes you a cancer Amazon. Welcome to the club.

Reply
mary
7/3/2011 11:42:02 pm

sorry - hopefully the drains DIDN't have to stay in long

Reply
Amy
7/6/2011 12:11:59 pm

Sending lots of love your way!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.